The National Parks of Britain – Part 1

Great Britain has fifteen national parks, these are areas of great beauty set aside from normal commercial activities to preserve the natural habitat of the region’s flora and fauna. Many of these parks have incredible wildlife and stunning countryside that needs preserving for the benefit of future generations. People who work and live in these havens of beauty have responsible lifestyles and some of them carry on traditions and jobs that are centuries old. National parks are open to the public, provided that they abide by the rules to preserve and take care of the environment.

The Fifteen National Parks

There are fifteen areas of preserved beauty that the government of Great Britain has decided to give national park status to, ten are in England, Scotland has two and three are located in Wales. If laid out in the list, this island nation has an impressive number of the preserved land:

  • Breacon Beacons
  • Dartmoor
  • Exmoor
  • Lake District
  • New Forest
  • Pembrokeshire
  • North Yorkshire Moors
  • Cairngorms
  • Northumberland
  • Snowdonia
  • South Downs
  • Peak District
  • Loch Lomand & The Trossachs
  • Yorkshire Dales
  • The Broads

These outstanding areas of Britain are protected due to their amazing beautiful countryside and preserve the natural habitat of many species of animals and birds.

Brecon Beacons

The Brecon Beacons is over five hundred miles of unspoiled South Wales that stretch from Abergavenny in the east to Llandeilo in the west. If you are an enthusiast of cycling or walking, then the Brecon Beacons are a must to visit. The most picturesque highlight is traversing the Brecon Beacons Way which takes in the summits of Pen y Fan and Corn du. Along the hundred-mile way, walkers can see the great Iron Age hill fort at Crug Hywel, the Llanthony ruins and the superb Brecon and Monmouthshire canal.


Dartmoor offers the visitor true freedom to explore over the vast area of moorland and is one of Britain’s last true wildernesses. Mile after mile of hills and heather stretch as far as the eye can see, but for those intrepid adventurers who take Dartmoor on, then there are great Neolithic and Prehistoric sites to uncover. There are also abandoned tin mines, rocky tors, strings of standing stones and ancient bridges. And the jewel in the Dartmoor crown is Grimspound which is an impressive Bronze Age village.


Exmoor National Park is mostly an upland area that was once a Royal forest and hunting ground. Exmoor contains nearly 270 square miles and features woodland, moorland, valleys and also farmland. A great way to see both Exmoor and Dartmoor is to experience the Two Moors Way, it is around a hundred miles long and takes the visitors across dramatic Tors and fields of wild purple heather, and also encompasses rolling valleys. The undertaking of this walk will probably take up a whole week and will traverse from coast to coast.

These great national parks have a myriad of things to see and do, each has its own particular beauty, culture and heritage. Each have different flora and fauna to discover and areas of untamed wilderness that takes the visitor back thousands of years back to a world that is quite different to that of today.